1 Wedding and a Funeral of Old Ideas

Saturday, July 7 was my sister’s wedding. I’ve previously written about it in a post on my old blog. It was a beautiful wedding. My sister was radiant; she was wearing this beautiful chic champagne colored mermaid gown, (see sister & gown in previous post) and as she was walking towards the altar holding on my mother’s arm while The Corrs’ “Runaway” played in the background, the groom cried. Good thing someone near us had tissue, or our mascaras would have ran like they were being chased by zombies!

The wedding being a learning experience was the furthest thing I expected.

Within the confines of my environment the modern relationships I’ve seen haven’t really been encouraging. I have to say that a part of me was worried and those were because of my own fears: What if they fall out of love? What if they’re unhappy? What if they find out that they’re not suited for each other?

Seeing people get married, cheat or separate before their kid enters kindergarten and go into separate relationships with other people have made me wary. It’s not that I accept that marriage is something that is temporary, it’s that I know that some view it as such. Marriage I see as this endurance marathon to the end, and you do not want to be stuck with someone who’ll take the path of least resistance and give up while you try to put everything into it to make it work. With that in mind, how sure are you that the person you’ve chosen will go the distance? It is the merging of two people into one, and two individuals do not necessarily have the same ideas.

At the beginning of their relationship, I didn’t know my brother-in-law that well. I saw him as this quiet person who didn’t seem to be interested in talking to us. And you do not trust people you do not know. It was only when their wedding date was getting nearer that I knew him to be funny, smart and witty. And that he loved my sister so much.

As my sister was walking down that aisle I realized: All that is needed is trust. Trust in the person that you love. Trust in yourself that your trust in this person, no matter what others say or think, is right.

My brother-in-law said during his reception speech that his wedding day was the best day of his life, and I love him for that.

Congratulations to the newlyweds Mr. & Mrs. Go!

4 thoughts on “1 Wedding and a Funeral of Old Ideas

  1. True dat. Marriage is not easy, love is not enough, having a kid is not enough. Marriage takes work from all parties, and a lot of it is the ability to adjust, forgive, and laugh. When it works, then everything is worth it. πŸ™‚

    • It’s a bad thing that there are no like buttons for post comments in WordPress! πŸ™‚ Great words of wisdom Ms. Pat! I do hope that our generation and the next have fewer divorces.

Leave a Reply

